Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.



2016 Award WINNERS Announced 

Click here for details


2016 Scholarship Recipients Announced
Click here for details


Get Notifications!

Complete this form to be added to our mailing/email list for information about our Awards, Scholarships and Gala. 


The 2017 Nightingale Awards Gala will be held on Friday, November 3, 2017 at the Radisson Penn Harris Hotel & Convention Center
in Camp Hill, PA. 


THANK YOU to our Contributors!

View the list of our generous sponsors and donors - we are extremely grateful for their support! 





Nightingale Award nominations will be accepted through May 31, 2017. Read the Criteria & Nominations Information

On October 21, 1990, the first Nightingale Awards of Pennsylvania were presented for excellence in nursing. To date, more than 180 extraordinary nursing professionals in the areas of clinical patient care, nursing education, nursing research, and nursing administration have been recipients of Nightingale honors.


Clinical Practice

This award is given to a licensed practical nurse, registered professional nurse and an advanced practice registered nurse. Nurses nominated for this award are recognized for providing outstanding quality of patient care, superior nursing clinical skills, and extraordinary compassion. Exceptional communication skills enhance their contribution to the health needs of the community while advancing the profession.

Awards to apply for are:

    • Clinical Practice LPN
    • Clinical Advanced Practice RN
      • Nurse Midwives
      • Nurse Practitioners
      • Certified Nurse Anesthetists
      • Masters prepared nurses working in an advanced practice setting
    • Clinical Practice RN
    • Community Nursing RN or LPN
      • Non-acute care, i.e. hospice/home care, parish nurse, school nurse   

Nursing Administration

Nurse administrators nominated for this award are recognized for creating and sustaining supportive environments for the practice of nursing in challenging and diverse arenas. The nominees for this award initiate positive recruitment and retention strategies and support a model of professional practice in their organization through their leadership, innovation, mentoring and knowledge of the health care needs of their communities. 

Nursing Administration - Leader/Manager
The emphasis is on a clinical practice leader/manager. An individual who influences the quality of patient care with a focus on infrastructure support and positive clinical outcomes. 

Nursing Administration - Executive (CEO, CNO or Director Level)
The emphasis is on an upper level of nursing leadership and management. An individual who demonstrates visionary leadership, implements innovations, and promotes effective financial stewardship of operational human resources. 


Research and Evidence-Based Practice Nursing

Nursing Research

Research is the foundation of current nursing practice and the basis for future nursing practice. Nominees for this award are committed to excellence in nursing practice through research. These nurse researchers receive grants and publish findings that enhance nursing practice, patient care, education, and science in the academic and clinical practice settings.

Doctorate of Nursing Practice

Curricula within the DNP framework, builds on traditional graduate programs by providing education in evidence-based practice, quality improvement, and systems leadership, among other key areas. Nominees for this award exhibit healthcare improvements and contributions via practice and clinical scholarship; demonstrate noteworthy involvement or influence in healthcare policy and advocacy; contribute to interprofessional collaboration and improve patient and/or population health; and significantly contribute to the advancement of nursing practice.


Nursing Education
The search for knowledge holds the promise for the future. Nurse educators nominated for this award demonstrate the ability to inspire nursing students and practicing nurses. They creatively stimulate students and colleagues to pursue knowledge and skills needed to practice nursing compassionately and effectively. 

Nursing Education - Academia
The emphasis is on scholarly research and dissemination of research through education.  An individual who is an inspiration to students and cultivates a supportive learning environment.  

Nursing Education - Staff Development
The emphasis is on promoting evidence-based practices within a clinical setting.  An individual who strives for clinical practice excellence and shares knowledge with others.  

The Patient Choice

In 1999, to further recognize exceptional nurses caring for patients, the Nightingale Awards of Pennsylvania added another accolade, The Patient Choice Award. In the Spring of that year, a press release was issued asking patients to write a letter describing a nurse who has touched their lives or the lives of their families in an unforgettable way. One nurse was chosen from the many letters which were received.

Nominate a Special Nurse:

Write a more than 500 words...and tell us about your beloved nurse. If your letter is selected, you'll win a trip to Harrisburg to honor this special nurse at the Nightingale Gala. Your nurse will receive an acknowledgment never to be forgotten!

Write to us with the name of your special nurse, her/his employer, your name, address, and phone number and mail to: Nightingale Awards of Pennsylvania, 2400 Ardmore Boulevard, Suite 302, Pittsburgh, PA 15221. You can also submit via our online form when the call for award nominations opens on March 1, 2017.

Advertise the Call for Scholarships & Awards at Your Institution

Call for Scholarship Applications Poster (downloadable PDF)

Call for Award Nominations Poster (downloadable PDF)

Call for Patient Choice Award Nominations Poster (downloadable PDF)